Posted by: Rachael | July 9, 2008

diet

I totally don’t believe in diets.
You need to live a well-balanced everyday life in that humble opinion I call my own.
But Grandfather Bear came across this one on his bookshelf and shared it with me. Now it must be said that some things go over my head and I’m always the last to understand the punchline of a  joke……but I think I got this message loud and clear;-)
It must also be said that I’m one for looking for principles and then doing what I can with what I have. But this one said there must be NO substitutions. And the promise in return for following it to the letter? Working on the principle of chemical breakdown (aha, there’s a *principle* at work), I would shed four and a half kilos (10 pounds) in only three days.
THAT is my kind of result.
A week later I could do it again and be at my goal weight.
THAT would be motivating.

The diet itself was suggested many moons ago by the Miami Heart Institute for morbidly obese people who needed to drop a few pounds before they could have heart surgery. Now I don’t need heart surgery and I’m not obese, but I figured, “What have I got to lose?” (about nine kilos to be precise!)
So here I sit, having completed one round. It was only half as good as promised. I lost just over 2kg in three days. Worth it? Enough to do it again a week later. Only that time I didn’t drink the tea. I figured you didn’t *have* to drink tea and they just let you because most people like to – I don’t normally drink tea so figured it wouldn’t hurt to leave that bit out….well, I only lost 1kg that time….maybe the tea was important…..the third time I did it I left out the icecream and lost nothing. Go figure. I cannot bring myself to eat any more junk-food-frankfurters or unethical-tinned-tuna-that-I-had-previously-stopped-buying-on-principle, so I won’t be trying it again. There’s got to be another way.
I still don’t believe in diets. 

DAY ONE
Breakfast:
1 grapefruit
1 slice dry toast
1T peanut butter
black tea/coffee

Lunch:
1/3C tuna
1 slice dry toast
black tea/coffee

Dinner:
2 slices meat
1C spring beans
1C beetroot
1 small apple
1C weight watcher’s vanilla icecream
black tea/coffee

DAY TWO
Breakfast:
1/2 banana
1 slice dry toast
1 boiled egg
black tea/coffee

Lunch:
1C cottage cheese
5 Snax biscuits
black tea/coffee

Dinner:
2 frankfurters
1C broccoli
1/2C carrots
1/2 banana
1/2 C weight watcher’s vanilla ice cream
black tea/coffee

DAY THREE
Breakfast:
5 Snax biscuits
1 slice cheddar cheese
1 small apple
black tea/coffee

Lunch:
1 boiled egg
1 slice dry toast
black tea/coffee

Dinner:
1C tuna
1C beetroot
1C cauliflower
1/2 melon
1/2C weight watcher’s vanilla ice cream
black tea/coffee

Responses

  1. Yeah, we need to have good balanced food daily but sometimes and for some reasons people use diets. And I know that diets are very popular and useful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

