Posted by: Rachael | March 21, 2008

darling dishcloth delight

At first I couldn’t get my head round it.
Why were people knitting dishcloths? Sensible people, no less.
I mean to say, you could buy a packet of a dozen or so for a couple of bucks.

Then I knit one….and another…..and another……until I had enough that I didn’t need to buy those manky, smelly, fall-apart shop ones any more (oh the emotive language!)

I’ve played round with knitting pretty pictures, but my favourite is the simple knit-two-yarn-over-knit-to-the-end-of-the-row variety (and then k1, k2tog, YO, k2tog, k to end once it’s as wide as you want it to be).

I like to use 8-ply cotton and knit two strands together on 5mm needles.
It makes for a good strong dense cloth that stands up to any job.
And when they do start to fall apart (which so far has only happened after a good year and a half’s use), you can, as K9 pointed out to me, unravel the cotton and knit them up again. I can’t admit to being quite that keen yet, but the vision is not entirely out of the question! At least they won’t slowly rot in landfill, contaminating the soil and consequently the food supply of my great-grandchildren.

Responses

  1. […] of the easiest things to knit is a dishcloth. I’ve talked before about *why* you I would do it. But it’s not just me. Daughter Number Two knit herself one, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

