Posted by: Rachael | March 1, 2008

**snap**

I love brandy snaps.
Which I’d always thought was strange, because I cannot find any alcohol that I like.
Fanta comes close, but I’d really rather drink water.
Now about brandy snaps.
Yum.
I ate the last one at Christmas-time.
And the first one when it broke as I was filling them with cream.
And if I recall correctly (of course, I recall correctly) I had two on my dessert plate. Come to think of it, I didn’t each much apart from brandy snaps and camembert cheese on Christmas Day.Anyway, one sister-in-law got me thinking.
“You’d have made brandy snaps, wouldn’t you, Rach?”
“Actually I haven’t. The only recipe I have says when they come out of the oven you have to leave them for one minute to cool down, then you have to work quickly with multiple wooden spoons sticking out of drawers before they harden up too much, but if they harden you can return them to the oven, and quite frankly it all sounds a bit daunting to me. I’ll make apple crumble or caramel self-saucing pudding.” I didn’t speak in a link, but I did think it (is that the sign of too much blogging and not enough living?)The conversation dried up, either because we all took another brandy snap or noone was really interested in my wooden spoons having square handles and not nice round ones suitable for brandy-snap-making.But I didn’t forget. And I wondered if brandy *baskets* would be less fiddly than snaps.

AHA.
They’re a doddle.
A walk in the park.
A piece of cake.
Especially good with icecream.

We invited some friends round (because you need a good excuse to go making dessert, don’t you) and made up 16 18 brandy baskets (somehow I miscalculated and there were two extra. OH NO. catastrophe.)

Getting a good photo was never going to happen.
Getting any photo was not a lot short of a miracle. Was it the heat or the size of the production run we were doing? Whatever it was, the icecream was melting, the whipped cream was sliding off taking strawberries with it and we were getting closer to brandy puddles by the second.

So I snapped and we ate.

This is one recipe worth remembering:
(It’s a Destitute Gourmet recipe, but it was my idea to double it and to make baskets ;-) )

100g butter
100g caster sugar
4T golden syrup
Simmer together until melted

100g flour
1t ground ginger
Rind of 1 lemon, grated
Add and mix in.
Pop spoonfuls on a baking tray and cook for 6 minutes in my oven at 180*C.
However long it takes, remove when bubbly and wait for them to cool down.
Quickly and carefully (yeah, that’s the scary part, but if they break it doesn’t matter – just pull the edges of the hole together and all will be well – I promise) flip them into a greased muffin tin and leave them there until hardened. Doesn’t take long. Fill them with whatever takes your fancy – we imagine trying them filled with blueberries smothered in a dollop of yoghurt mixed with strawberries……or filled with chocolate cheesecake mix……or with thick custard and applesauce in the middle of winter……the possibilities are endless.

And now that I’ve made them, I’ve worked out how a non-alcohol-drinking-chick could like brandy snaps. There’s not a drop of grog to be found in them!

Leave a Reply

Categories

