Posted by: Rachael | February 28, 2008

got it *together*

One of the things I love about Christmas is the time we spend working together….. I love that the big ones help the little ones and actively encourage them to be involved. I love the enjoyment. I love the turn-taking and the would-you-like-a-go-nows. And, of course, I love the finished product.

We’ve made fruit mince and pastry (and pavlova with the spare eggwhites) and Christmas Cakes (I’ll show you The Big One tomorrow) and rock-bikkies and Christmas Logs (we even remade the original logs that hadn’t been eaten into a peppermint-filled variety) and we’re halfway through stained glass biscuits (cookies for you American readers) (which the advent calendar told us to make today) and a gingerbread house (which the advent calendar said we were NOT making this year, but the kids got creative about it and  managed to get me excited at the thought of a gingerbread house with stained glass windows so I relented).

BUT

All this kitchen-activity can be too much for someone who would rather be hiking or knitting or reading or anything-elsing though……one night earlier this week I was so over kitchen stuff that I couldn’t even decide what to have for dinner. I served up muffins and custard with peaches and an announcement that that was IT, so someone had better start thinking about what else they wanted. I had cooked – or as a friend pointed out, *overseen* the cooking, which in my opinion is as taxing as cooking yourself, for 347 days so far this year and I couldn’t do one more. That night Father Bear whipped up bacon and eggs and stirfried veges as Grandfather Bear looked at me incredulously saying, “You’re serious, aren’t you?” You bet I was!!

 

December 2007

Leave a Reply

Categories

