Posted by: Rachael | February 20, 2008

soap saver

My generation is meant to just throw things away when they’re done with them. We are not meant to be like our grandparents, who lived through The Depression and saved everything *just in case*. We are certainly not meant to save those little slivers of soap that eventually become too small to use.
But I do! I have a recipe that uses them and I really want to try it out…..but a decade later, I have managed to procure a mere half a jar of slivers. Maybe we just use our soap for too long. And maybe we don’t go through that much soap, now that I’m well-and-truly entrenched in my switch-to-baking-soda-campaign. Whatever the reason, I may be an old lady and blogging might be so yesterday before I get to try this one out.

For every cup of soap leftovers (which you need to grate or cut into slivers…..hmmmmm there’s a hint – mine are already slivers when we pronounce them *used enough*), you add two cups of boiling water. Stir over a low heat until melted.
Add enough fine oatmeal to make a stiff paste.
Form into shapes or put in molds.
Remove from molds the next day.
Leave a few days to harden.

That sounds easy, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Categories

